2020 Courses and Descriptions
ACTIVE SHOOTER RESPONSE
This course is being presented by the Cape May county Prosecutor's Office and is designed to instruct the first responding police officer who is the first responder on proper procedures to an active shooter call. The class will consist of both classroom and tactical hands-on instruction on proper approaches and containment procedures to ensure safety of all the persons involved at an active shooter call.
This course is designed for shooters who have problems during agency qualifications. It will also enhance the shooting ability of any officer. The drills and techniques taught in this course focus upon the shooting fundamentals and to correct shooter errors such as improper trigger control and follow-through.
Equipment and ammunition requirements: Duty handgun, magazines, all related leather gear, flashlight, rain gear, eye and ear protection, 1000 rounds of duty equivalent handgun ammunition.
DEFENSIVE TACTICS INSTRUCTOR
This 40-hour course consists of Defensive Tactics, Baton, and Handcuff Training at the instructor level following the guidelines as presented in the PTC Defensive Tactics Manual. Training will be intense and all those attending should be physically fit. Must be MOI and Physical Fitness Instructor certified to attend. Clothing and equipment requirements will be covered in the first day of classroom training.
DRUG RECOGNTION/DRUG LAWS FOR THE PATROL OFFICER
This four hour course is being presented by the Cape May County Prosecutor's Office and is designed for the uniformed patrol officer, which covers the CDS Act, Drug Identification/Recognition, Concealment, Packaging and Handling.
EMERGENCY MEDICAL DISPATCHER
The 32-hour Emergency Medical Dispatcher Course is required of all call takers. This course is designed to effectively direct and manage their emergency medical resources. This course primarily focuses on the medical side of dispatching. Completion of this class carries 21 continuing education units for EMT's.
PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of a 40-hour Basic Telecommunicators Course and valid Basic
CPR Certification card.
PLEASE CONTACT OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
This New Jersey Police Training Commission approved course is designed to instruct department officers who will be assigned the task of instructing and certifying officers in the use and care of firearms. Instruction of methodology, firearms policy, testing and operation of a firearm range will be reviewed. Officers will be required to furnish their duty weapon, shotgun and ammunition.
The Officer must score no less than an average of 95% on three consecutive firings of the Commission-required firearms course, which average shall be attained during testing by the school's range master prior to admission to the Firearms Instructor Course and without remedial training.
Department Firearms Policy 1400 rounds duty or equivalent for duty weapon
Duty semi-automatic handgun 50 Rounds revolver ammunition
12 gauge police shotgun 100 Rounds frangible handgun ammunition
Flashlight 100 frangible Handgun ammunition
Rain gear 30 Rounds 12 gauge 00 Buckshot
30 Rounds 12 gauge Slug
September 28, 2020- October 2, 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM Thursday Oct. 1st Night-fire: 1:30PM-9:30PM
Tuition: $250.00 Class limit: 20 REGISTRATION
FIREARMS BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION
The New Jersey State Police Firearms Investigation Unit provides this training to allow States, County and Local Law Enforcement agencies the ability to conduct Firearms related background investigations for Firearms Purchaser Identification Card, Permit to Purchase a Handgun, Permit to Carry a Handgun and Retired Law Enforcement Officer Permit to Carry a Handgun. This course is intended to provide uniform processing and investigating procedures for all departments. This course will also provide information regarding the latest updates in procedural processes and laws related to same. Firearms laws covered: NJAC 2C:29, 2C-58 and Title 13 Chapter 54.
This is an 8-hour course that teaches you how to help someone who may be experiencing a mental health or substance use challenge. The training helps you identify, understand and respond to signs of addictions and mental illnesses.
METHODS OF INSTRUCTION
The New Jersey Police Training Commission approved course is designed for officers who plan on teaching within a police academy setting and/or their respective departments. This seven day course covers selecting methods of instruction, establishing goals and performance objectives, constructing lesson plans, testing and evaluation, psychology of learning, effective speaking, principals of learning, and the use of training aid. Elective blocks of instruction have been added to include civil liability of police instructors, ethics within the classroom setting, instructor leadership, and advanced introspection of adult learning theories.
Each student will be required to author and deliver a 10 minute presentation, a team presentation, and a 45 minute final presentation. Additional learning outcomes are provided throughout the course in order to further develop teaching methods, understanding, and confidence. Students will receive personalized attention throughout the course in preparation of their presentations, both individual and within the group setting.
As a professional developmental course, students are required to attend in a business suit or Class A uniform. Dress code for throughout the week will be discussed during the first day of instruction. The use of a personal laptop with a memory storage device is highly suggested.
Must have three (3) years full-time police officer experience.
February 10, 2020-February 14, 2020/February 18, 2020-February 19, 2020
8:00AM-4:00PM Tuition: $200.00 Class limit: 15
September 21, 2020-September 29, 2020
8:00AM-4:00PM Tuition: $200.00 Class limit: 15 CLOSED
This is a 40 hour Basic Telecommunicator Course that is required of all call takers. Telecommunicators will be instructed on the basic information required to dispatch calls for law enforcement, fire and EMS services. NECI certification received upon successful completion.
PLEASE CONTACT OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
This 40-hour Police Training Commission accredited course prepares an Officer to gain certification as a Physical Training Instructor. Students will learn the implementation of the Police Training Commission Physical Conditioning Program. Instructional topics include fitness levels, physical fitness assessments, exercise physiology, substance abuse, diet and nutrition, and more. Officer must be in good physical condition in order to participate in the daily physical fitness sessions.
Pre-requisite: Methods of Instruction course certificate.
This four-day course prepares the law enforcement firearms instructor to teach the fundamentals of operating the law enforcement rifle. Successful completion of this course certifies the instructor to qualify rifle operators under the Attorney General's Requalification Guidelines. Instruction includes nomenclature, malfunction clearance; semi-automatic and full automatic manipulation drills, shooting on the move, and other street relevant courses of fire.
Candidates must achieve a 90% score on the Automatic/Semi-Automatic Patrol Service Rifle Qualifications Course (ARQC) and pass a written examination to successfully complete the course.
NOTE: This in not a Police Carbine Instructor Course
Rifle with sling, at least three 30-round magazines for rifle; 2,500 rounds of ammunition for rifle; a flashlight or rifle attached light device; service handgun and holster; 500 rounds of ammunition for handgun; wrap-around eye protection; hearing protection; baseball style or other hat with wide front brim; long sleeve shirts or jackets; gloves; rain gear (no ponchos); spotting scope or binoculars; and a cleaning kit. Certification upon successful completion.
November 16, 2020-November 19, 2020 8:00AM-6:00PM/ Wed. Nov. 18th Night-fire: 11:00AM-9:00PM
Tuition: $300.00 Class limit: 15 CLOSED
This two-day course is for any operator of the rifle in the department. It is a basic course enhancing shooting skills with the rifle, proper use of sights, transition drills and malfunction clearing.
1500 rounds of ammunition for the rifle; 200 rounds of handgun ammunition; 6 magazines for the rifle; duty handgun with leather gear; rain gear; eye and ear protection
SEX CRIMES INVESTIGATION
This course is being presented by the Cape May County Prosecutor's Office. This one day course demonstrates the practices and procedures in the investigation of sexual assault, molestation, etc. A few of the topics discussed will be awareness of the psychological as well as the physical effects of the victims, evidence for prosecution of offenders, interview and interrogation techniques, as well as preparing for court testimony.
VEHICLE OPS INSTRUCTOR
This five day course is designed to prepare instructor candidates to become certified with the New Jersey Police Training Commission as Vehicle Operations Instructors (Methods of Instruction Course is required to instruct Basic Police Recruits). This course includes instruction in the area of Accident Probability, Legal Requirements of a Pursuit, Vehicle Inspection/Maintenance and Vehicle Control Techniques. Participants must attend all of the scheduled instruction, show proficiency in teaching a functional area of classroom presentation and driving techniques on all the driving components.
BACK TO TOP