News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/15/2017 12:25:00 PM to 3/16/2018 12:00:05 AM.

News Flash

County News & Information

Posted on: December 15, 2017

[ARCHIVED] Freeholder Hayes Selected to Serve on New Jersey Association of Counties Executive Board


TRENTON, NJ -- During the December 8, 2017 the Board of Directors of the New Jersey Association of Counties (NJAC,) Nomination Committee Chair & Somerset County Freeholder Director Peter S. Palmer reported the recommendations for the 2018 NJAC Slate of Executive Officers. Cape May County Freeholder E. Marie Hayes was recommended to serve as Second Vice President of the statewide organization.

NJAC is a non-partisan organization that represents the interest of county government in New Jersey. NJAC speaks on issues impacting the counties with a unified and proactive voice and is committed to advocating for legislation, regulations, and policy directives that empower county governments to operate more effectively and efficiently.

In announcing the election to the position of second vice chair, Freeholder Hayes stated, “It is an honor to serve on the executive board of this organization. As an active member of NJAC I have seen firsthand the work they do to advocate for county government. I look forward to working with the board to address the many issues that are facing all 21 counties in New Jersey.”

Freeholder Director Gerald M. Thornton, who serves on the Board of Directors of NJAC, added, “Marie Hayes will bring the same leadership to NJAC as she does to the Freeholder Board. Having Cape May County represented on the executive board is a great honor.” A resolution was adopted by the NJAC board of directors, and will be ratified at the January 26, 2018 meeting where the Executive Committee members will be sworn in as follows:

  • President Mary H. Melfi

Hunterdon County Clerk

  • 1st Vice President Brendan W. Gill

Essex County Freeholder

  • 2nd Vice President E. Marie Hayes

Cape May County Freeholder

  • Secretary-Treasurer John Cimino

Mercer County Freeholder

  • Immediate Past President Heather Simmons

Gloucester County Freeholder

Contact:  Diane Wieland, Public Information Officer

609 463-6415

Facebook Twitter Email