News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/10/2018 5:16:00 PM to 1/10/2018 5:21:43 PM.

News Flash

County News & Information

Posted on: January 10, 2018

[ARCHIVED] 2018 Cape May County Reorganization

Contact:  Diane Wieland, Public Information Officer 

609 463-6415 

January 9, 2018


2018 Cape May County Reorganization  

CAPE MAY COURT HOUSE, NJ – After nearly 17 inches of snow and frigid temperatures postponed the 2018 Cape May County Reorganization, scheduled for January 4, it was successfully held on January 9 at 4:30 p.m.  The public ceremony to swear in Freeholders Will Morey and Jeffrey L. Pierson; and, Sheriff Robert A. Nolan, was held in the Freeholder meeting room at the William E. Sturm Administration building at the Crest Haven Complex, before a full house of family, friends and well-wishers.

Freeholder Will Morey was sworn in by SCJ Michael Donohue, his wife Janice held the bible as Morey took his oath for his third term in office. Morey was first elected in 2011.

Freeholder Jeffrey L. Pierson was administered his oath by Cape May County Clerk, Rita Fulginiti, holding the bible was Virginia Tomlin, Director of the Veteran’s Bureau.  Pierson was elected to fill an unexpired term in 2016, and elected to a three year term in November 2017.

Robert A. Nolan, Cape May County’s 100th Sheriff was sworn in to office by SCJ Michael Donohue, holding the bible was his wife, Michelle, and grandson Michael Nolan.  Michael Nolan, an Eagle Scout, also lead those gathered in the flag salute.

The Sheriff’s Honor Guard presented the Colors and Bella McKeown, a fifth grade student at Maud Abrams School in Lower Township opened the ceremony with an

amazing rendition of the “Star Spangled Banner” and closed it with “God Bless America”.  Deacon Erik Simonson, mayor of Lower Township, delivered the invocation and benediction.

After the formal swearing in of the elected officials, each Freeholder took a few minutes to address the audience.  Freeholder Director Gerald M. Thornton congratulated the returning Freeholders and commended his colleagues on the Board for their continued work as a Cape May County Freeholder.  Thornton also thanked his senior administration, Clerk of the Board Elizabeth Bozzelli, Director of Operations Michael Laffey, Chief Financial Officer Francine Springer and HR Director Jeffrey Lindsay for their dedication and commitment in the preparation of the county budget and daily operation of County government. 

Thornton extended his gratitude to the department heads and county employees for their hard work all year in providing services to the residents.  He especially pointed out the work of the Engineer’s Office, Road Department, Office of Emergency Management and all others that stepped up to help after the recent snow storm.

2018 Reorg  Morey2018 Reorg Pierson
L-R Freeholder Will Morey, Janice Morey and SCJ Michael Donohue

L-R County Clerk Rita Fulginiti, Virginia Tomlin and Freeholder Jeffrey L. Pierson

Robert Nolan Swearing in 1000x750P1050585H
L-R Sheriff Robert A. Nolan, Michael Nolan, grandson, Michelle Nolan and SCJ Michael Donohue

Bella McKeown, 5th grade student at Maud Abrams School.

Facebook Twitter Email