News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/24/2018 3:00:47 PM to 1/25/2018 2:32:38 PM.

News Flash

County News & Information

Posted on: January 24, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Freeholder Director Gerald M. Thornton Sworn in as Southern NJ Freeholders’ Association Presidents

Freeholder Director Gerald M. Thornton was sworn in as the President of the Southern New Jersey Freeholders Association (SNJFA) at their annual reorganization meeting held in Cumberland County, held on January 22, 2018. Officiating the ceremony is Cape May County Freeholder Vice Director Leonard Desiderio who swore in each member of the executive board of directors.

2018 Thornton SNJFA

The SNJFA consists of southern eight counties in New Jersey, including, Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean and Salem. The focus of the organization is to foster the sharing of ideas, programs and best practices within the eight southern counties. Monthly meetings are hosted by each county, with speakers presenting innovative programs that impact government operations and with the potential to develop joint ventures and cost saving programs for county government.

Other officers sworn in by Desiderio were Freeholders Jonathan Young, Vice President, Camden County; Treasurer, Melissa DeCastro, Salem County; and, Corresponding Secretary, Carol Musso, Cumberland County.

Outgoing President, Cumberland County Freeholder Director Joe Derella was awarded the Southern Star Award for his dedication and commitment to working with counties and advocating for programs that enhance the role of county government.

2018 SNJFA Board of Directors

Contact: Diane Wieland, Public Information Officer

Tourism and Public Information

609 463-6415

Facebook Twitter Email