News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/30/2020 10:21:36 AM to 7/31/2020 12:00:05 AM.

News Flash

County News & Information

Posted on: June 30, 2020

[ARCHIVED] COVID-19 Update - 6/29/20

Cape May Court House- New Jersey has 171,272 total COVID-19 positive cases and 13,138 deaths. Total positive cases of COVID-19 infection in Cape May County is now 750 including 65 deaths. In addition, out of county cases not reported in the following spreadsheets are 4.  Sadly, today we are announcing the passing of a 64-year-old male and a 66-year-old male both from Middle Township.

“Please accept my deepest condolences for your family’s loss, “said Cape May County Freeholder Director Gerald Thornton. 

To save lives and prevent the spread of COVID-19, the State has issued an incoming travel advisory that all individuals entering New Jersey from states with a significant spread of COVID-19 quarantine for 14-days after leaving that state.

Under the 14-day quarantine travel advisory announced by the Governors of New Jersey, New York and Connecticut, individuals traveling to or returning to New Jersey from states with increasing rates of COVID-19 are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days. This includes travel by train, bus, car, plane and any other method of transportation.

The 14-day quarantine travel advisory applies to travel from certain states identified as those that have a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average ("impacted states.")

As of Friday, June 26, there are currently eight states that meet the criteria stated above:

  • Alabama

  • Arkansas

  • Arizona

  • Florida

  • North Carolina

  • South Carolina

  • Texas

  • Utah

This list will be updated regularly.

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, or a hotel or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items.

The self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected. Travelers and residents returning from impacted states typically will not need to check-in with public health officials, unless otherwise they are involved in contract tracing efforts or required to do so by their employer or any other federal, state or local law or order. It is expected that individuals will follow the recommendation to self-quarantine.

The travel advisory does not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration through the course of travel. Examples of such brief passage include but are not limited to: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or layovers for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.

Travelers arriving from areas with increasing COVID-19 cases may wish to postpone their travel to the region if they are unwilling or unable to follow the self-quarantine advisory. Contact your travel agent or real estate agent to inquire about any potential cancelation and/or refund. Alternatively, you may travel to NJ and stay in self-quarantine in the home; however, you are advised not to leave the home for any activities other than to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food or other essential items. NJ hotels and home rental services (i.e., Air B & B, VRBO, HomeAway, etc.) should contact guests with reservations to inform them of the self-quarantine advisory.


Individuals who are traveling to New Jersey from impacted states for business are exempted from the application of the travel advisory. This, for example, would include truckers driving from an impacted state to New Jersey, and any state, local and federal officials and employees traveling in their official capacities on government business. Individuals traveling for business should still consider postponing travel to the extent possible. Individuals are encouraged to self-monitor for symptoms upon return from any travel to an impacted state, and employers should consider screening employees for symptoms before permitting them to return to work. Employees and employers should follow current CDC guidance regarding travel, available here:

Call your healthcare professional if you have concerns about COVID-19 and your underlying health conditions. Stay up to date on the current situation as it evolves. Some reliable sources are New Jersey Poison Information and Education System hotline at 211 or 1-800-962-1253, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention at, the World Health Organization at, the New Jersey Department of Health at For additional information visit or Cape May County Department of Health at, also like us on Facebook.

Facebook Twitter Email