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Construction Lien Claim  
 

Purpose 
When a person or business entity files a lien upon real property because that person's or business entity's labor, 
material, supplies etc., were used to improve property without full compensation. Note: The Construction Lien Law 
N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-1 et seq. replaced the Mechanic's Lien Law. The Construction Lien Claim must be filed within 90 days 
after work is completed. A residential claimant should file a report with the Arbitration Association. New Jersey 
Statutory Law requires an original contract to have been in existence in order to file a Construction Lien Claim. 
 

Requirements – NJSA 2A:44A-8, NJSA 46:26A 
NJSA 2A:44A-8 Form available at: 
http://capemaycountyclerk.com/DocumentCenter/View/5751/Lien-claim-form-2A-44A-8 
 

1. A cover sheet (or electronic synopsis).  The fill in cover sheet form is available at this link:   
http://www.capemaycountyclerk.com/DocumentCenter/View/4226 

2. Name(s) and address(es) of claimant(s) (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8) 

3. Name(s) of property owner(s) (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8)  

4. Date of claim, last payment and original contract (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8)  

5. Amount of claim (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8)  

6. Recording reference to original NUB (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8)  

7. Signature(s) of claimant(s) (N.J.S.A. 2A:44A-8)  

8. Signature(s) acknowledged (N.J.S.A. 46:26A-3(a)(3) 

9. Name(s) printed beneath signature(s) (N.J.S.A. 46:26A-3(a)(4) 

10. Must be in English (N.J.S.A. 46:26A-3(a)(l)  

11. Clear and legible print for accurate reproduction (N.J.S.A. 46:26A-5(a)(l)  

12. Record and return information on document (N.J.S.A. 46:26A-7)  

 
* Signature(s) must be fully acknowledged by a notary public or other officer authorized by law to take oaths. Acknowledgment must include 
the name of the state and county where the acknowledgment is taken, full date, name(s) of the person(s) signing the Construction Lien Claim. 
If the Claimant is a corporation or other entity there must be a statement that the maker was authorized to execute the instrument on behalf 
of the entity and that the maker executed the instrument as the act of the entity. Notary or other officer taking the acknowledgment must 
sign the acknowledgment, print his/her name, title and jurisdiction. Notaries outside New Jersey must apply seal.  

Fees 
Flat fee      $15.00 per instrument 

Deliver documents and make check payable to:   Cape May County Clerk 

mailto:coclerk@co.cape-may.nj.us
http://www.capemaycountygov.net/
http://www.capemaycountyvotes.com/
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